Robot Arm C

Locked
User avatar
UQOnyx
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Posts: 274
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 2:23 pm
Division: C
State: NJ
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by UQOnyx »

Bazinga+ wrote:
UQOnyx wrote:
Bazinga+ wrote: Its much better imo. Ive tried using all 3 and im positive that at most state competitions the top 3 teams will all use master-slave control systems. These are superior in that if it takes like 2 hours to learn to consistently get a full score using a master-slave control system, then it will probably take you like 4 hours with a joystick or 6 hours from a computer. THEORETICALLY either of those could work, but master-slave is much less expensive than a remote control so I dont see why you wouldn;t use it. Hope this helped.
How would you recommend coding for a master slave system? I'd assume that you are probably using an arduino. Using a potentiometer combined with an arduino seems to be pretty easy, but would I need to have some sort of smoothing code as well?
Pretty sure the easiest way to code it is using the 'knob' example on arduino under 'Servo'. If you wanna be fancy you can make it smoother by making the servo go to the average between the target position and current position and just loop that. Use a variable and map it from 0 to 1000 onto 0 to 180. And to make it smooth make the input (current pos.+target pos.)/2. Just play around with it, arduino programming is pretty self explanatory.
Thanks for the reply. I have experience with arduino but I wasn't sure if I could just use "Knob" for the code. Your other example seems pretty interesting. Are you implementing it, or are you sticking with just a simple coding?
Noor-ul-Iman School

2012 Events:
Forestry
Storm The Castle


2013 Events:
Boomilever
Shock Value
Forestry


I know the voices aren't real, but they have some great ideas..
User avatar
windu34
Staff Emeritus
Staff Emeritus
Posts: 1382
Joined: April 19th, 2015, 6:37 pm
Division: Grad
State: FL
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by windu34 »

I'm using pretty much what Bazinga+ recommended and it definetly works. I have tried making it fancy by implementing dead bands and PID, but in the end, I always come back to the simple knob example. What will set robots apart will be practice, not coding.
Boca Raton Community High School Alumni
University of Florida Science Olympiad Co-Founder
Florida Science Olympiad Board of Directors
kevin@floridascienceolympiad.org || windu34's Userpage
0ddrenaline
Member
Member
Posts: 136
Joined: May 21st, 2015, 6:36 pm
Division: Grad
State: MI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by 0ddrenaline »

In my understanding of the first two tiebreakers, to have the perfect run, all dice would have the six facing up while in the goal. Is this what the best teams have been doing? If so, it may be a little tricky for us.
User avatar
windu34
Staff Emeritus
Staff Emeritus
Posts: 1382
Joined: April 19th, 2015, 6:37 pm
Division: Grad
State: FL
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by windu34 »

0ddrenaline wrote:In my understanding of the first two tiebreakers, to have the perfect run, all dice would have the six facing up while in the goal. Is this what the best teams have been doing? If so, it may be a little tricky for us.
Dice are not technically "scorable items" thus they do not have to be in cartons. See previous posts.
Boca Raton Community High School Alumni
University of Florida Science Olympiad Co-Founder
Florida Science Olympiad Board of Directors
kevin@floridascienceolympiad.org || windu34's Userpage
jander14indoor
Member
Member
Posts: 1651
Joined: April 30th, 2007, 7:54 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by jander14indoor »

As usual, opinion, not official...

You can get a perfect score (points) without all the 6's being up. I happen to think the smart way to get the perfect dice score is to flip them 180 degrees which maxes the first tiebreaker. But it isn't required for a perfect score.

Yes, if you have a perfect score, the second tie breaker is meaningless against other perfect scores. Dice aren't items,

Jeff Anderson
Livonia, MI
User avatar
UQOnyx
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Posts: 274
Joined: November 28th, 2012, 2:23 pm
Division: C
State: NJ
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by UQOnyx »

I know this isn't the place for clarifications, but am I wrong in assuming that there should be power outlets available at competitions?
Noor-ul-Iman School

2012 Events:
Forestry
Storm The Castle


2013 Events:
Boomilever
Shock Value
Forestry


I know the voices aren't real, but they have some great ideas..
User avatar
windu34
Staff Emeritus
Staff Emeritus
Posts: 1382
Joined: April 19th, 2015, 6:37 pm
Division: Grad
State: FL
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by windu34 »

UQOnyx wrote:I know this isn't the place for clarifications, but am I wrong in assuming that there should be power outlets available at competitions?
I wouldn't assume anything. Be prepared for anything.
Boca Raton Community High School Alumni
University of Florida Science Olympiad Co-Founder
Florida Science Olympiad Board of Directors
kevin@floridascienceolympiad.org || windu34's Userpage
chalker
Member
Member
Posts: 2107
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:30 pm
Division: Grad
State: OH
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by chalker »

UQOnyx wrote:I know this isn't the place for clarifications, but am I wrong in assuming that there should be power outlets available at competitions?
This is definitely not a good assumption to make. I know for example at the Ohio State Competition Robot Arm competes in the track and field house, with not a power outlet in sight.

Student Alumni
National Event Supervisor
National Physical Sciences Rules Committee Chair
spaceTiger77
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: November 21st, 2015, 11:52 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by spaceTiger77 »

Hello People!
Quick question: We are using a 6V battery pack to power our microcontroller, but we were wondering if it qualifies as a "separate power source", as per Rule 3.a. So, in other words, does this 6V battery pack have to be in the 30 cm x 30 cm base? Thank you!
SpaceTiger77
User avatar
windu34
Staff Emeritus
Staff Emeritus
Posts: 1382
Joined: April 19th, 2015, 6:37 pm
Division: Grad
State: FL
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Robot Arm C

Post by windu34 »

spaceTiger77 wrote:Hello People!
Quick question: We are using a 6V battery pack to power our microcontroller, but we were wondering if it qualifies as a "separate power source", as per Rule 3.a. So, in other words, does this 6V battery pack have to be in the 30 cm x 30 cm base? Thank you!
SpaceTiger77
Not official place for clarifications, but no, it can be outside.
Boca Raton Community High School Alumni
University of Florida Science Olympiad Co-Founder
Florida Science Olympiad Board of Directors
kevin@floridascienceolympiad.org || windu34's Userpage
Locked

Return to “Robot Arm C”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests